Friday night with the Zonbu…

July 27, 2007

Well kids, I remain impressed.

I have installed the virtual machine at home, where I have the graphics horsepower to run it full screen at 1280×1024 so I don’t even see my XP desktop underneath. After a few more hours of exploring, I’m still very very impressed. I’m taking notes and I’ll post in more detail, but I have to admit that the bulk of my comments so far fall in to the “fine polish” category and I’m sure they can be addressed relatively easily by the software team.

Overall, I haven’t hit it with anything I’d need to do on a typical quiet Friday night at home that it can’t handle. I’m enjoying Rhapsody Online in my headphones while I write this and I have my Messenger contacts open as well. The system has pretty much done everything as promised so far, with the caveat that I’m still running in a virtual machine within my normal desktop. I even ssh’d in to a server at work to check on something. No problems at all.

-Mr. Zonbu

P.S. The Zonbu team needs to find a way to work with VMWare to make sure the optimization toolkit for video and mouse performance can be installed via the VMWare host, so people can have a smoother experience. Mouse performance in particular is sketchy under Zonbu on VMWare. By the way, why don’t they have a proper pre-built VMWare image ready to go to save us the hassle?


My first few hours with the Zonbu desktop…

July 27, 2007

Well I’ve been wandering around in my Zonbu virtual machine for a few hours now.

A few impression. It all workings surprisingly well. I’ve been able to do everything I’ve tried so far – webmail, download attachments, listen to Rhapsody, open images, watch video clips on youtube, look at flash based statistics, load my Nasdaq java based stock tracker. Everything.

At the moment the machine has access to a 2Ghz core on my AMD laptop. This weekend I’ll be running it on a Duron 1.1Ghz machine with 512Mb of real RAM, a very similar spec to the Zonbu box itself. There have been a few performance pauses (like oddly drop outs when Adobe Acrobat starts), but I think that might be the VMWare host as much as the Zonbu OS.

This is very encouraging.

-Mr. Zonbu

P.S. If I get a chance I’ll post some instructions on all the steps necessary to make it work, their website isn’t all that clear.


Zonbu finally shipping retail units

July 27, 2007

Various commenters and other sources have told me they recently received notice that their Zonbu unit has shipped.

So far the reports are they are coming via USPS. Interesting choice, but certainly cost effective. I wonder if they are providing tracking information to the buyers?

I’ll let you know when I get my update.

In the mean time, look for some coverage over the weekend on hands-on experience with the applications. I’ve been playing with the Zonbu OS under a virtual machine this afternoon and have had some positive results and a few ugly surprises so far. More to come…

-Mr. Zonbu

PS – Isn’t that funny, I totally forget to mention I’m writing this from inside my virtual Zonbu system. That’s got to be a good sign.


Is the timing right for the Zonbu?

July 27, 2007

Many companies have tried, unsuccessfully, to introduce thin client/internet terminal appliances in the past.

I’m not going to run through the litany of names, but they include huge companies and small start-ups.

They all failed.

I believe the world has changed and that Zonbu is launching at an ideal time…

Read the rest of this entry »