Firefox strangeness…

I’ve noticed something that may be a bug. If it’s not a bug it is a material difference from how Firefox on windows handles the privacy options.

I like Firefox to dump my cache, browsing history, passwords etc. when I shut down. Its a performance , as well as, a privacy thing. On windows, I have it set so that when I close Firefox it prompts me to confirm that it should clear these items.

I set the same option on Firefox on the Zonbu, but I’ve noticed something. It seems to prompt me to clear those items when I -start- Firefox, which is odd and not what I want or what I’ve seen before. It’s also largely useless from a privacy perspective.

The first time I noticed it I thought it might have been because FF crashed previously. But I just rebooted the box, and started FF and it prompted me. I closed FF after a while and restarted it normally and it prompted me again. Definitely something funny going on there.

Is anyone else seeing this happen?

-Mr. Zonbu

3 Responses to Firefox strangeness…

  1. We pre-load Firefox in the background to have a faster start-up of the browser. An invisible window of Firefox is started during the login process so when you close all the Firefox window, the application actually doesn’t close.

    There are a few side effects to this strategy. Really restarting Firefox is not so easy – you have to really kill the Firefox process. And I think that your strangeness is due to our invisible Firefox window.

    Since 5.789, there is a hidden option to avoid auto-starting Firefox. You have to create an empty file in /Documents/.mozilla/firefox/zonbu_noautostart.

  2. mrzonbu says:

    Gregoire,

    If you have a valid reason for starting that copy of Firefox, which I actually noticed today during my troubleshooting (somehow I managed to mess up the desktop again – entirely unintentional) then I don’t necessarily want to stop it. And the last thing I want to do in Zonbu land is edit configuration files. Yuck. I didn’t learn EMACS because I wanted too…

    However, if you’re going to do something like that, you need to make adjustments to accommodate things like clearing the privacy options ormally.

    I don’t know what that answer is, I’ll leave if for you and the team to figure out, but hiding a copy of the browser is going to cause all kinds of issues I suspect (says the man who has run broadband ISP services for over a decade).

    Perhaps even the YouTub weirdness I saw?

    -Mr. Zonbu

  3. mrzonbu says:

    Oh and one more thing.

    Firefox, as you must well know, is a resource pig. This may explain why I’m using so much memory from a standing start?

    -Mr. Z

Leave a Reply

