Flash/YouTube performance on my Zonbu simluator

YouTube Logo
Just a brief note to address a question we had from a reader.

Gregg wanted to know how smooth the flash playback is, as some early reviews said it was jerky on the beta machines…

My Zonbu should be in my hands by this weekend, in the mean time I’ve been running it on an AMD Duron 1.1GHz with 512MB of RAM, on-board networking, onboard audio, and a very old NVidia MX400 AGP card.

I’ll -redo this test when the official unit arrives, but on my simulator Flash runs smoothly, includng YouTube videos.

I just watched a half a dozen videos (both music and straight ranting) and had no issues what-so-ever.

I suspect the on-board, but much newer video card in the Zonbu, will match or exceed the performance of my old, $15 NVidia card. I’ll let you know if I discover otherwise.

-Mr. Zonbu

PS – I know we have a few readers who have already received their units. Anyone else want to comment?

PPS – Firefox is quite a consumer of resources. If I have Flash running in another window and navigate around, I can make it skip, but I need to be doing something to load up the machine. If I’m actually watching a video and just have IM running etc. then it appears to be fine.

I just discovered, trying to play back this great video over at Vimeo, sucks up 100% of the CPU and skips a bit.

16 Responses to Flash/YouTube performance on my Zonbu simluator

  1. Gregg says:

    Thanks for the info. Would like to hear from others who already have their Zonbu.

  2. Dave says:

    Thanks to the summer break, customs are taking twice as long to process packages. So my Zonbu has been waiting nice and brave there for the past 2 days. I called them today, and they told me I could expect it *maybe* early next week, else late next week or even the week after.. Bloody holidays.

    By the way, hi all, I’m Dave, from the Netherlands. I think I’ll be the first Zonbu’er from the Netherlands :).

  3. Gregg says:

    Hey Dave, how much did Zonbu charge you for shipping?

  4. michel2506 says:

    Hey dave, i have the same problem, i live in the netherlands too (and i hoped to be the first zonbuer in The netherlands :)) My zonbu is in customs since monday, i kind of expected to have it right now.

    @ gregg

    The shipping costs to the netherlands was €47,50 wich is about €33.

  5. Dave says:

    Hey Gregg,

    $47,50, for the Zonbu and a WiFi USB dongle. It’s somewhat normal for packages from companies in the US. I get cheaper prices when buying from eBay though ($25-$30-ish).

    I’m going to grab a bunch of photos as soon as I get my hands on it, so I’ll drop you a line if you’re interested!

    (btw, can you add a wordpress plugin that allows me to receive email notifications for new comments? It’s quite a hassle to re-check the posts for this :))

  6. mrzonbu says:

    I’m new to wordpress, point me in the right direction and I’ll see what I can do.

    -Mr. Z.

  7. Dave says:

    Check out http://www.wp-plugins.net, it has a whole lot of plugins for WordPress.

    I’d recommend you try this one: http://txfx.net/code/wordpress/subscribe-to-comments/

    A website I regularly visit uses this plugin, and it works wonderfully.

  8. Gregg says:

    Wow. The shipping charge internationally is pretty steep. As you probably know I only paid $7 here in the U.S. For a few days before I came across the Zonbu I was considering buying a Koolu instead. Part of the reason I went with the Zonbu instead other than it just being a superior matching, was that the shipping charge from the company in Canada to the U.S. was $35. I’m very happy I found the Zonbu right before I was about to pull the trigger on the Koolu.

  9. Gregg says:

    Now that I think about it, it would be interesting to see a detailed side by side comparison review between the Zonbu and the Koolu. I’m pretty sure the Zonbu would come out considerably ahead.

  10. mrzonbu says:

    If there is enough interest, I’ll contact the Koolu people and we can run a bake-off.

    I agree, based on specs and experince to date, the Zonbu wins in a number of categories. However, I think the OS choice on the Koolu may give it an edge in the market, and by default it has WiFi, which makes it appealing for the second PC market. We’ll see.

    Koolu, you listening?

    -Mr. Zonbu

  11. Gregg says:

    Actually, I’m pretty sure it doesn’t have WiFi by default. The video demo on the site says it does, and it shows it with an antenna in the video. But I couldn’t find any mention of built-in WiFi anywhere in the specs on the site and none of the pics of it on the site show that little antenna. Their website was a mess with all kinds of wrong info on it when I looked at it a week ago. They started trying to fix up the errors yesterday. I even emailed them a few days ago because different pages on the site gave different specs like different memory amounts for the same product version, asking for a clarification. They didn’t email me back. Based on my admittedly little experience and contact with Koolu so far, support seems to be a little lacking.

  12. mrzonbu says:

    They definitely don’t have the marketng/website staff/contractors that Zonbu do. Hell of a website they have, I have to tip my hat to them for that.

    -Mr. Zonbu

  13. Gregg says:

    This is something new that Koolu just put up on the homepage a day or two ago…

    “NEW PRICE
    now with double the storage and speed”

    before that it read for a few days just…

    “NEW PRICE
    now with double the storage”

    –but somebody for some inexplicable reason added the meaningless “and speed” to it. Did they just swap out the old CPU Amd Geode LX800 for a mythical new AMD Geode 1600? The strange thing is that I know that one of the main guys behind Koolu is the very smart John “maddog” Hall, as the CTO, and I know he speaks English well too. There’s just a lot of weird stupid stuff like that with Koolu for some reason.

  14. mrzonbu says:

    I’m a marketing person (at times, or at least I play one on the Internet). Never trust marketing people. They’re just like sales people… and tech people… and linux people… and bloggers…

    Uh oh…

    -Mr. Z

  15. Gregg says:

    Just wanted to update this thread. The CEO Andrew Greig and CTO Jon “maddog” Hall of Koolu just replied to my email. Their responses were very considerate and appreciative of my input even though some of my criticisms were pretty harsh and maybe even stated a little rudely. One of my specific complaints about not telling the customer the shipping charge until after “all” their info is entered (that really bugs me) they say is something they will definitely try to remedy soon. Also, as a very nice bonus, they offered to send me a free Koolu to review and compare to the Zonbu. After I receive the unit I plan to write up a review here, with Mr. Zonbu’s permission of course, and also post it on my future website which I just registered called smallandgreen.com.

  16. mrzonbu says:

    We would be happy to include it as a guest piece.

    I may give them a ring and do my own review as well. It looks like we’re further out on the bleeding edge on this stuff than I thought…

    -Mr. Zonbu

Leave a Reply

