What do you want to know about the Zonbu?

Question MarkWelcome all new visitors.

I’ve noticed our traffic growing in leaps and bounds, so there must be lots of curiosity about this little Zonbu box.

I’ve got some spare time this weekend, and lots of questions of my own I’m going to explore but I thought I would throw the comments section open to anyone who has a specific question about the box or its contents, applications, performance etc.

If I can reasonably research and answer the question, I’ll post the results here.

What do you want to know about the Zonbu?

-Mr. Zonbu

7 Responses to What do you want to know about the Zonbu?

  1. Gregg says:

    Since I still haven’t had a chance to play with my own yet, I’ll ask you to test this out. I want to know how many firefox tabl you can have open before you notice some sluggishness. Sometimes I find myself with over 10 tabs open and am wondering if I’m going to have to change my surfing behavior with the Zonbu. Also to make things tougher have some streaming radio playing while you have all those tabs open.

  2. Danny says:

    Just a passing thought: I wonder how the Zonbu might get on with the OLPC kit, Squeak etc. A laptop might be the appropriate form factor for a child in the desert, but there are plenty of kids who are in near reach of connectivity etc, and might benefit from a cheap desktop.

  3. Andrew Houghton says:

    I’m interested in the S3 storage aspect to Zonbu. It was my understanding that S3 charges for each access to your documents and the amount of storage space used. So does Zonbu do a flat fee or does your monthly access vary from month to month.

  4. Andrew Houghton says:

    Also, how well does Zonbu work over dial-up? Not every place in U.S. has affordable access to high speed broadband. Given it reliance on network storage, it seems that large files would not be ideal. Could you run some speed test for S3 over dial-up and broadband, that might be of interest to your readers.

  5. Pelle says:

    Is it true as I have understood that you can’t actually install any programs onto the Zonbu? If that’s true – what about extensions in Firefox for example – are those possible to install? Also – if I can’t install anything – can I perhaps unzip such programs which doesn’t need installation, which is true for Eclipse on Windows for example.

    Right now I’m using Eclipse for my web development and even though I don’t think I would switch to Zonu right now it would be nice to know if it would be possible to continue to use it because as far as I know Nvu isn’t the best software in the world for writing PHP? Are there any other text editors which can be used for software development?

  6. […] Firefox use, surprisingly good performance One of the questions that was submitted earlier […]

  7. Gary Beal says:

    This is great information. I found a good broadband speed checker at http://www.broadband.co.uk/voipguide.jsp

    Cheers

    GaryTheScubaGuy

Leave a Reply

