DesktopLinux.com: New Flash player important, slow

There is a very interesting piece over at DesktopLinux.com, regarding Flash and H.264. If I didn’t know better, I’d be tempted to think Steven J. Vaughan Nichols has been reading my blog.

Adobe clearly means to claim HDTV for its Flash line of products. At the same time, Adobe has also committed itself to support Linux on the same level as Windows and Mac OS. Slow performance and all, it appears to me that Adobe Flash Player is going to become for Linux multimedia, what OpenOffice is for office software and Firefox is for Web-browsing: the application of choice for Linux users everywhere.

Apparently I’m not the only trend spotter on this one.

So, go read the article and then tell me who wants to have a discussion about processing power in the Zonbu?

Anyone?

Full article here: http://www.desktoplinux.com/news/NS5995693429.html

-Mr. Zonbu

One Response to DesktopLinux.com: New Flash player important, slow

  1. whootowl says:

    It remains to be seen if the Windows or Mac version of the new Flash player also struggles so. If these monster PCs are struggling under the horsepower requirements of the new Flash player, then we might expect that most Flash-based video articles will continue to be offered in a less processor-intensive standard def stream as an option. In any case, it is clear that the current Zonbu Mini and Zonbu Laptop will not be able to handle this HD Flash.

    I’m hoping the useable life of my Zonbu Mini will at least extend to the end of my two-year service commitment. If the Zonbu cannot handle it’s role as my main internet browser, then for me its usable life is over. I’d prefer to keep HD IPTV constrained to my home theater, but I expect at some point in the next few years I’ll be wanting to peruse HD video content available from the web.

    As for green computing, it would be nice if the graphics subsystem is modular such that the 3D engine and/or H.264 engine could remain asleep (< 1w) when not needed. When engaged, perhaps these coprocessors would employ some form of “speedstep” and consume only what power is necessary and sufficient to handle the demand.

Leave a Reply

