A dock or launcher for the Zonbu?

July 31, 2007

The Zonbu uses the “Start Menu” model that we have all become accustomed to.

It’s what MS Widnows uses, it’s what KDE uses and it’s sort of “the way things are typically done” in OS interfaces at the moment.

Mac OSX has not only a start menu equivalent, but also a very nice “dock” or “launcher” that floats at the bottom of the screen, is animated and actually populates dynamically based on your most recently used applications.

Mac OSX Leopard Dock

The first time I saw it, as a windows user, I was a bit envious. Can the Zonbu offer something similar…

Read the rest of this entry »


Dual core desktop with 17″ LCD for $399

July 31, 2007

Dell AMD SystemI just noticed this over on dealnews.com: a Dell AMD dual core desktop with a 17″ LCD for $399.

This got me thinking more about the Zonbu e-commerce/sales experience and some areas I think it needs to be improved to be successful. I’m going to talk about that in more detail in a later post, possibly today or tomorrow.

In the mean time, my evil mind had me thinking “Gee, you could probably buy that system, keep the screen, mouse and keyboard, and sell the tower for about what you paid and then grab a Zonbu and subscription.

Of course, that begs the question, why do I need to hunt around for a keyboard, mouse and monitor in the first place?

Shouldn’t Zonbu offer a complete buying experience via their website?

-Mr. Zonbu


Firefox 2.0.0.6 is out…

July 31, 2007

Get Firefox I just got back to my desk to discover my Windows Firefox had updated itself to 2.0.0.6.

Another opportunity for the Zonbu team to spring in to action. Since the Linux version doesn’t auto-update itself, it will be interesting to see how quickly Zonbu rolls out this security patch to its users.

This is the kind of high value service that makes the monthly subscription fee worthwhile for average users.

-Mr. Zonbu